I took a rather long hiatus from blogging. I could offer up a variety of excuses for my prolonged absence (read terrible neglect) that range from the plausible-“life simply was too busy”- to the creative but ridiculous-“would you believe that I joined a roving band of gypsies with hearts of gold and teeth to match and used interpretive dance as my creative outlet this past year?”

   While I am fond of both of the above explanations, the truth of the matter is that I let fear get the best of me.  I panicked at the first signs of complication and discomfort in the writing process. I let anxieties (both real and imagined) rule me. I gave in to the pangs of creation that I had challenged myself to meet and push past. I deeply regret my acquiescence to the crippling demands of worry. Although it is not a sin to neglect one’s blog, my silence was certainly a byproduct of sin. For forgetting the abiding hope I have in Christ and allowing doubt to spoil my joy and anxiety to dictate my actions, I repent.

   So with that said, I am going to resume blogging on a regular basis. I don’t expect fanfare to meet this announcement, nor am I deluded enough to think that the internet has been a shallower place for my absence. All I know is that I need to continue writing in order to challenge myself and to make sense of the pain that always seems to be intertwined with things of beauty.

I sincerely hope that you will come with me on this journey. I earnestly desire the company of fellow wayfarers and welcome any provisions/insights you might have that would enhance the trip. I also promise not to abandon you again for a group of gypsies (no matter how dazzling their gold teeth are).

